Page 1 of 1

Problem using keka with command line

Posted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:27 am
by damien
Hello, cause I'm new on macosx, I don't really know if I've got a bug or not.

When I'm using this command in the terminal :

/Applications/Keka.app/Contents/MacOS/Keka x /Users/Dev/Desktop/archive.7z

The archive is unpack but keka create a file named : x.zip (the file is created + I've got a minor error of pzip)

And when I'm using another command for example :

/Applications/Keka.app/Contents/MacOS/Keka e /Users/Dev/Desktop/archive.7z

That create also an extra file : e.zip ...

I think my command is not good but on windows I do the same thing (except the path of 7zip is note the same.)

I'm using keka 1.0.3 and try 1.0.4 too. I'm on macosx 10.8

Thanks for any help.

Re: Problem using keka with command line

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2013 4:02 pm
by aone
You can't use Keka that way. You can however use the p7zip binary bundled in Keka:

/Applications/Keka.app/Contents/Resources/keka7z

Hope this helps :D

Re: Problem using keka with command line

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2013 4:04 pm
by aone
Also clarify that command line compatibility is being developed. Meanwhile, just use the bundled binary.

Salut!

Problem using keka with command line

Posted: Sat Jun 20, 2020 8:44 pm
by AEtherScythe
aone wrote:
Wed Sep 11, 2013 4:02 pm
You can't use Keka that way. You can however use the p7zip binary bundled in Keka:

/Applications/Keka.app/Contents/Resources/keka7z

Hope this helps :D
I came to the above conclusion, also, but there is some problem with the DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH or similar.
It only works if I am running keka7z from the Resources directory.
If I add the Resources directory to my PATH and try to run it from elsewhere, I get:

Code: Select all

Can't load './7z.dll' ()


ERROR:
7-Zip cannot find the code that works with archives.
If I copy the file "/Applications/Keka.app/Contents/Resources/7z{dot}so" to the current directory, then the command runs fine.
Please can you suggest any other env variable I can set to workaround this problem?
And can you please-relink the binary so that it is smarter about finding the Resources/7z{dot}so on its own?

NOTE: Just running "keka7z --help" works from anywhere, but if I actually try to do anything like test an archive, then I get the error about the missing library.
NOTE: where I put {dot} is a workaround for the forum thinking it's a URL.

Problem using keka with command line

Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2020 9:45 am
by aone
AEtherScythe, 7z.dll (and Codecs folder if needed) should be near the binary. Those are not dylibs, sadly.

You could create an intermediate script like so:

Code: Select all

#! /bin/sh
"/Applications/Keka.app/Contents/Resources/keka7z" "$@"
And call this script instead `keka7z` directly.