Problem using keka with command line

Talk about Keka
Forum rules
Talk about Keka here. For bugs go to Issues.
Post Reply
damien
I know Keka
I know Keka
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 9:40 am

Problem using keka with command line

Post by damien » Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:27 am

Hello, cause I'm new on macosx, I don't really know if I've got a bug or not.

When I'm using this command in the terminal :

/Applications/Keka.app/Contents/MacOS/Keka x /Users/Dev/Desktop/archive.7z

The archive is unpack but keka create a file named : x.zip (the file is created + I've got a minor error of pzip)

And when I'm using another command for example :

/Applications/Keka.app/Contents/MacOS/Keka e /Users/Dev/Desktop/archive.7z

That create also an extra file : e.zip ...

I think my command is not good but on windows I do the same thing (except the path of 7zip is note the same.)

I'm using keka 1.0.3 and try 1.0.4 too. I'm on macosx 10.8

Thanks for any help.
User avatar
aone
Mr. Keka
Mr. Keka
Posts: 328
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 8:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem using keka with command line

Post by aone » Wed Sep 11, 2013 4:02 pm

You can't use Keka that way. You can however use the p7zip binary bundled in Keka:

/Applications/Keka.app/Contents/Resources/keka7z

Hope this helps :D
aone ~
User avatar
aone
Mr. Keka
Mr. Keka
Posts: 328
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 8:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem using keka with command line

Post by aone » Wed Sep 11, 2013 4:04 pm

Also clarify that command line compatibility is being developed. Meanwhile, just use the bundled binary.

Salut!
aone ~
AEtherScythe
I know Keka
I know Keka
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2020 8:36 pm

Problem using keka with command line

Post by AEtherScythe » Sat Jun 20, 2020 8:44 pm

aone wrote:
Wed Sep 11, 2013 4:02 pm
You can't use Keka that way. You can however use the p7zip binary bundled in Keka:

/Applications/Keka.app/Contents/Resources/keka7z

Hope this helps :D
I came to the above conclusion, also, but there is some problem with the DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH or similar.
It only works if I am running keka7z from the Resources directory.
If I add the Resources directory to my PATH and try to run it from elsewhere, I get:

Code: Select all

Can't load './7z.dll' ()


ERROR:
7-Zip cannot find the code that works with archives.
If I copy the file "/Applications/Keka.app/Contents/Resources/7z{dot}so" to the current directory, then the command runs fine.
Please can you suggest any other env variable I can set to workaround this problem?
And can you please-relink the binary so that it is smarter about finding the Resources/7z{dot}so on its own?

NOTE: Just running "keka7z --help" works from anywhere, but if I actually try to do anything like test an archive, then I get the error about the missing library.
NOTE: where I put {dot} is a workaround for the forum thinking it's a URL.
User avatar
aone
Mr. Keka
Mr. Keka
Posts: 328
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 8:42 pm
Contact:

Problem using keka with command line

Post by aone » Mon Jun 22, 2020 9:45 am

AEtherScythe, 7z.dll (and Codecs folder if needed) should be near the binary. Those are not dylibs, sadly.

You could create an intermediate script like so:

Code: Select all

#! /bin/sh
"/Applications/Keka.app/Contents/Resources/keka7z" "$@"
And call this script instead `keka7z` directly.
aone ~
Post Reply